Memory and epilepsy

This is a topic that has been in my thoughts, and I admit my concerns for a few months now. I have long noticed, or became more conscious of  my inability to remember a person’s name,and often forget them eventually.In recent months, I have now been doing general knowledge quiz books and using dictionaries, always enjoyed certain non fiction books, to keep my brain active.Information and facts are retrieved, forgotten, or may pop into my subconscious later.I have for a long time got into the habit of writing things down, on my calendar,my phone etc, which helps.

Memory is the brain’s ability to store information and find it later.This involves learning the information, storing it, then recalling it again. The recalling it is the difficult bit. However there are other factors that affect memory, such as:

  • Mood and concentration:confidence and happiness affects the way the brain works and increases your ability to concentrate and take in information.Anxiety or stress will make it more difficult at learning stage, and worrying to recall information will make it harder to recall the correct information.
  • Lack of sleep:Tiredness, lack of sleep or feeling unwell affect memory and concentration, not getting enough sleep can contribute to memory problems.
  • Age:As we get older, storing and retrieving information is more difficult process.
  • Surgery:Memory problems for those who have epilepsy, has been known, for those who have surgery in the temporal lobe.

Epilepsy as a brain activity occurs on a specific region of the brain, such as the medial temporal lobe. However such repeated epilepsy seizures can affect the brain tissues in the most important areas of the brain eg the Hippocampus, this is important to the processing of information and memory. If damage occurs on the left side of the brain, they will find it difficult to remember words-spoken or written. If damage is on the right side of the brain, visual memory is affected. If damage is found on the frontal lobes, it can lead to short-term memory loss, let’s not despair just yet.

Memory loss is either a short-term or long-term problem.Short term memory loss is common for those who experience Complex Partial Seizures or Tonic Clonic seizures just before and during a seizure, and there are people who experience disruptions regarding long-term loss.Long term memory comes in 4 ways:

  • Procedural memory-A memory for skills that can be carried out without consciously thinking eg riding your bike, swimming, tie your shoelace
  • Semantic memory-A memory for facts and knowledge eg high school and college classes
  • Episodic memory-memories from personal experiences such as weddings,vacations,conversations,childhood memories
  • Prospective memory-remembering to do things in the future eg appointments, birthday cards

Memory problems can happen due to the side affects of anti-epileptic drugs (AEDs). Drowsiness and attention problems can affect short-term memory, and make it more difficult to learn and store new information.Always check with your doctor, if you have any concerns. I did such tests about 3 years ago on memory, during a stay in hospital.

My future articles, will be about getting into the habit of using memory aids, and methods to improve on this.

3 thoughts on “Memory and epilepsy

  1. This has been on my mind a lot recently. I feel that my memory has become … spotty, following my last seizure. I never had the perfect memory, but there are some things that I just feel like I’m missing. Names are one, the ability to hold on to recent past (what I did last week/month sort of things, distant past, say 20 years ago, I still have okay), and if I didn’t keep a calendar I’m not sure I could keep immediate future plans.

    Thanks for posting this, and I look forward to your next.

Leave a Reply

